If you are charged with a DWI in the state of New Jersey, a potential consequence is that you can lose your driving privileges. With a suspended license, your life can be impacted in major ways, including your ability to go to work or see your children. If you find yourself in this situation, you must continue reading to understand the penalties you are facing, your eligibility for a conditional license, and how a seasoned Middlesex County DWI attorney at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro can work to defend you.
What is a conditional license?
Depending on which offense DWI you are charged with in the state of New Jersey, you will lose your license for a certain period. The differing license suspensions read as follows:
- First-offense DWI: if your blood-alcohol content (BAC) is between 0.08 percent to 0.15 percent, you will lose your license until you install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle, at your own cost. If your BAC is higher than 0.15 percent, you will lose your license for anywhere between four and six months.
- Second-offense DWI: you will lose your license for two years.
- Third-offense DWI: you will lose your license for 10 years.
With that being said, in some states, you may be able to obtain a conditional license if you can prove that you will face extreme hardship with losing your license. An example of extreme hardship is that you live far from work and there is no public transportation available, so you will be restricted from making a living. So, this temporary license will allow you to drive to and from work. It is important to note that a conditional license comes with strict rules and it cannot be used to replace a regular driver’s license.
Is a conditional license offered in the state of New Jersey?
Since the state of New Jersey takes DWI offenses very seriously, the law does not offer a conditional license as an option. And if you are caught driving during the time your license is suspended, you may face incarceration. This is all the more reason why you should retain the services of one of the knowledgeable Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys as immediately as possible. Our team will serve as your advocates and work to reduce or altogether eliminate the penalties placed against you. Contact us to schedule your free initial consultation today.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.