If you have been charged with a DUI or DWI in New Jersey and your license has been revoked, continue reading to learn if you can receive a hardship license. For assistance with this process, give our Middlesex County DWI attorney a call today. Here are some questions you may have:
What is a hardship license?
A hardship license is used for individuals who have suspended or revoked licenses after receiving a DWI or DUI charge. This license is used for individuals to get to work or continue earning a living during this time. This license is often conditioned upon the individual solely traveling to and from school or work.
Can I receive a hardship license in New Jersey?
During periods of suspension, many states offer hardship licenses. However, New Jersey does not. A New Jersey driver must not drive with a suspended license until their driving privileges have been restored. A New Jersey driver can lose their license for a minimum of three months after a DWI or DUI.
What are the reasons for license suspension in New Jersey?
There are various reasons for a driver to have their license suspended in New Jersey. The following are the most common reasons for license suspension:
- Traffic offenses
- Failure to pay fines or court fees
- DWI/DUI conviction
- Mental or physical condition
- Failure to provide proof of motor vehicle insurance
- Refusal to take a breathalyzer test
- Abandoning a vehicle on a public highway
What can I do to get to work with a suspended license?
When your license is suspended, it is important to explore other options to get to work. New Jersey drivers with suspended licenses should explore public transportation, carpooling, driving apps such as Lyft and Uber, and more.
What are the penalties for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey?
The potential penalties for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey are as follows:
- First Offense: Extension to a license suspension that cannot exceed six months and a $500 fine
- Second Offense: Possible extension of license suspension by up to six months, possible imprisonment in the county jail for no longer than five days, and a $750 fine
- Third Offense: Possible extension of license suspension for up to six months, 10 days in county jail, and a $1,000 fine
If you have been charged with a DWI or DUI in New Jersey and require the assistance of our Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys, do not hesitate to contact our firm today.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.