Consequences of an Underage DWI in New Jersey

If you are caught drinking and driving while under the legal drinking age, you may face severe penalties under New Jersey state law. New Jersey does not take drinking and driving lightly and will consider your age when being charged with a DWI.

If you have been pulled over for driving under the influence while underage, it is essential that you reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney to fight for your rights in court. Our firm understands that being charged with an underage DWI can severely impact the rest of your life in a negative way. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss our services and to learn how we can assist your upcoming case.

What Are the Penalties of an Underage DWI?

DWI penalties are determined by blood alcohol content in New Jersey. Prior offenses of a DWI will also be considered when determining penalties. If you are charged with a DWI for the first time and you are underage, the penalties you face will depend on your BAC. If you are pulled over with a BAC of .01% or above as an underage individual, you will be charged with a DWI.

If you are charged with a BAC of .08-.09%, you will face:

  • $1,000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • Suspension of license for 3 months
  • Engagement in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
  • $250 and $400 fines
  • $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • $100 for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund

However, if you are pulled over with a BAC of .10% or above, your charges will increase.

If you are charged with an underage DWI, you may face the following penalties:

  • License suspension for 30-90 days
  • Participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) and related fees
  • Fines
  • 15-30 days of community service

Subsequent DWI charges will result in more severe penalties.

What Should I Do if Charged with an Underage DWI?

If you have been charged with an underage DWI, it is necessary to contact a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who will fight to reduce your charges and penalties. An underage DWI charge can seriously impact your future. Reach out to our experienced firm today to discuss our services and learn how we will defend against your charges. Give us a call today to discuss our next steps. We are here to help.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.