Consequences of Speeding Violations in New Jersey

There are many different rules for a driver to abide by while they are on the road. One of the most important rules that is frequently ignored is the speed limit. Driving over the speed limit can cause very critical accidents for everyone else on the road, including the driver themselves. The state of New Jersey takes speeding very seriously and works hard to enforce the speed limit. Speeding violations can be followed by certain fines and penalties. The degree of the consequences may depend on the circumstances surrounding the violation. Offenders may receive a ticket in addition to points on their license. Accumulating points on a record can reflect on an increase in personal finances, car insurance payments, as well as a possible license suspension.

Speeding Violations

Individuals who are found speeding may face certain consequences. A law enforcement officer may issue the driver a ticket that can result in certain fines as well as points on their license. In New Jersey, a driver can receive anywhere from 2-5 points on their license for this offense. This amount of points that are issued depends on the speed they were driving. The point system in New Jersey is as follows:

  • 2 points for 1-14 miles over the speed limit
  • 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
  • 5 points for driving 30 miles or more over the speed limit

If a driver is found speeding 30 miles an hour or more over the speed limit, the may be issued a ticket for reckless driving. Reckless driving is a separate offense. If a driver collects several points on their license, they may face additional consequences. If a driver in New Jersey accrues 6 or more points on their license within 3 years, they may face another fee. If they collect 12 or more points, their license could be suspended.

Plea Bargains

When facing a speeding violation, an individual may wish to enlist legal counsel to assist them in battling their charge. In some cases, an experienced attorney may be able to help a driver lessen the charges against them. Sometimes, prosecutors are open to working with an attorney to avoid any further complications and unnecessary expenses of the state. Because of this, it is possible in some cases to reduce the degree of a driver’s offense.

Contact our Firm

If you or someone you know was issued a speeding violation and wishes to speak with an attorney, contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastrotoday.

If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the quality legal services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.