When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey’s traffic laws and will face a driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction. DWIs carry harsh penalties, one of those harsh penalties being the loss of your driving privileges through a license suspension or revocation. Essentially, you will lose your driving privileges temporarily or permanently depending on the circumstances. This includes whether you have any previous convictions and what your BAC level was at the time of the arrest. If your license is under suspension or revocation as a result of a DWI, you are not permitted to drive until the term of your suspension or revocation period is over. Please continue reading to learn how you can get your driver’s license back after a DWI and how a seasoned Middlesex County DWI Attorney can help you protect your driving privileges.
How can I get my driver’s license back after a DWI in New Jersey?
Some states offer those convicted of alcohol-related offenses hardship or conditional driver’s licenses. Conditional licenses allow individuals that have lost their driving privileges to have reinstated limited driving privileges. However, New Jersey does not offer those convicted of alcohol-related offenses such as a DWI to obtain conditional licenses. If your license is suspended or revoked as a result of a DWI, you are not able to legally operate a vehicle until the period of your suspension or revocation is over. If you want to get your license reinstated you will have to comply with the requirements of your DWI sentence. If you fail to do so and operate a vehicle before the period of your suspension or revocation is over, you will incur additional penalties. In New Jersey, if you are convicted of DWI, you will automatically face a 3-month license suspension. In addition, you will have to complete an alcohol education program. If you fail to complete the program or you drive while your license is suspended, you will face an extra 1-2 years of license suspension. Furthermore, it is important to understand that after a license suspension for a DWI, your license is not automatically reinstated. Instead, you have to apply at the DMV and pay a reinstatement fee of $100. Until you complete these steps, you will not be able to operate a vehicle and can be charged with additional penalties for driving with a suspended or revoked license.
If you have been charged with DWI, it is critical to retain the legal services of one of our qualified and experienced attorneys. As New Jersey does not offer hardship licenses, you need a determined attorney to assess the charges brought against you. A skilled attorney can offer you individualized legal counseling to help you get your charges reduced or dismissed. Allow our firm to represent your interests and defend your rights. Contact us today so we can help you get your driving privileges back.