Drug Offenses in New Jersey

Being charged with possession of illegal drugs is a very serious crime in the state of New Jersey. Certain charges may lead to harsh penalties and convictions that have the power to negatively alter an individual’s life. While these consequences change depending on the drug and circumstances surrounding the possession, they are all severe. If you have been charged with drug possession, it is important to consult with an experienced attorney about your case.

Marijuana Possession

The state of New Jersey has minimum penalties that are required for those who are caught with marijuana without medical necessity. If an individual is found with under 50 grams, it is considered a disorderly persons offense. This may require up to 100 hours of community service. If the crime was within 1000 feet of a school, the penalties may worsen. If an individual is found with over 50 grams, it is considered a felony. This may result in up to 18 months in prison and a $25,000 fine.

Cocaine Possession

There are very serious penalties for an individual that is found with cocaine in the state of New Jersey. If found with less than half an ounce of cocaine, it is known as a third-degree offense of simple possession. This may result in a fine between $35,000 and $75,000 and a prison sentence of up to 5 years. This also may include losing your driver’s license, enrollment in a mandatory drug education and rehabilitation program, and 100 hours of community service if you were found within 1000 feet of a school.

Heroin Possession

Being charged with possession of heroin is also a very serious crime in New Jersey. Regardless of how much heroin you are found with, it is considered a third-degree crime. This comes with a penalty of up to $35,000 and up to 5 years in prison. The penalties of the charge may increase depending on whether there was intent to distribute or sell the heroin. They also increase if the individual is found with heroin near a school, public house, or park.

Prescription Drugs

Charges for being found with prescription drugs are always serious, although they may depend on certain factors. This may include how the drugs were obtained, the amount the individual possessed when charged, and if it was the individual’s first offense or if they are a recurring offender. If the drugs were obtained without a prescription, they may also be charged with theft. An individual who is charged with illegal possession of prescription drugs may face penalties from $1,000 to $300,000. They may also spend 6 months in jail and up to 10 years in prison.

Contact our Firm

If you or someone you know has been charged with drug possession and seek legal representation, contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today.

If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the quality legal services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.