Embezzlement Penalties in New Jersey | What to Know

Embezzlement involves property that is legally possessed and then taken without permission. If you were charged in New Jersey, do not hesitate to reach out to our skilled Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys to discuss the details of your case and your options.

What are the consequences of an embezzlement conviction in New Jersey?

While all embezzlement penalties are serious, it is important to note that in most instances, the worth of the stolen items defines the degree of the theft crime. The degrees and corresponding penalties are as follows:

Second degree ( $75,000 or more):

  • 5 to 10 years in state prison
  • Fines of up to $150,000

Third-degree (between $500 and $75,000):

  • 3 to 5 years in state prison
  • Fines of up to $15,000

Fourth degree ( between $200 and $500):

  • Up to 18 months in a New Jersey State Prison
  • Fines of up to $10,000

Disorderly persons (up to $200):

  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Fines of up to $1,000

How is embezzlement charged in New Jersey?

It is important to recognize that New Jersey law allows the authorities to aggregate the value of separate thefts to produce a higher total theft amount. This means that as long as you allegedly committed the separate thefts pursuant to the same scheme or method of conduct, prosecutors can combine the amounts together. If you allegedly misled the victim on several occasions, prosecutors can and will add all the money together. Furthermore, the law sets the degree of the theft crime on some kinds of property.

It is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today no matter what the alleged amount you are facing. Our legal team is on your side.

How can our firm help you?

While statutory law governs the penalties and consequences of theft charges, a skilled attorney will be able to provide you with more information about your case and can use their legal background to predict how prosecutors and judges will likely handle your case. Because of this, you will be able to make educated decisions about how you would like to move forward. No matter the strength of the prosecutor’s evidence, they will still need to establish your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. You may have any number of mitigating or exculpatory circumstances that you can use.

Do not face these charges alone. At the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro, our criminal defense attorneys will stick by you each step of the way.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
What Happens if I Receive a DWI in Another State?

If you were arrested for a DWI outside of New Jersey state lines, the legal process can get quite confusing. Regardless, the…

Read More
What are the Penalties for Public Intoxication in New Jersey?

Public intoxication is frowned upon in the state of New Jersey, as it may lead you to engage in prohibited conduct that…

Read More
What if I Received a DWI this Labor Day Weekend?

Labor Day weekend is usually commemorated with barbeques or otherwise large gatherings with alcohol likely present. With this, this is a weekend…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.