FAQ’s about DWI in New Jersey

When an individual is charged with driving while intoxicated in New Jersey, they may be feeling overwhelmed about their uncertain future. The individual may have a lot of questions about the penalties they may face, whether they will lose their license, and whether they may have to serve time in jail. Here are the answers to a few of the uncertainties that an individual may have.

Will I lose my driver’s license? When an individual is convicted of driving while intoxicated for the first time, they will be subject to a license suspension for three months. If it is the individual’s second offense, they will face a license suspension for two years. For a third or subsequent offense, the individual will face a license suspension of 10 years. Please note that New Jersey does not offer a hardship license.

Will I go to jail? Of course, one of the biggest concerns is facing jail time because of a DWI. A first DWI may result in up to 30 days of incarceration. A second offense may result in up to 90 days of incarceration. Finally, a third or subsequent offense within a 10 year period may result in up to 180 days of incarceration.

Why did I get charged if I wasn’t driving? If the owner of a car in New Jersey lets someone else drive their vehicle who is under the influence, the owner will also face a DWI.

If you have questions about DWI in New Jersey, contact us today.

If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation. 

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
What happens if I’m caught driving with a suspended license after a DWI in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, if you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater you will be convicted…

Read More
Could I go to jail for a first-offense DWI in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious criminal offense that carries harsh penalties. A motorist's blood…

Read More
How can a DWI affect my insurance rates in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, if you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or above you will be charged…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.