How can I be penalized for a traffic violation?

When drivers are on the road, they should make sure they are paying attention to what is going on around them. This should be focused on the things happening on the road. Drivers should be aware of other drivers and pedestrians. They should not be distracted by something in their car. By focusing on the road, they can avoid driving in a reckless manner. This can be better for them since they can avoid getting involved in an accident with another motor vehicle. If they are participating in driving that may lead to an accident, it may be because of a traffic violation. Traffic violations can include a range of unsafe driving practices, including speeding, driving with a suspended or revoked license, vehicular manslaughter, negligent driving, reckless driving, leaving the scene of an accident, fraudulent use of a license and using a cell phone while driving. These charges can lead to a variety of consequences based on the situation and the number of charges that the individual has previously been charged with.

Traffic violations can result in fines of varying amounts, possible jail time and points on your license. If you are consistently receiving charges for traffic violations, your consequences can become even harsher. It is important to seek legal help or your car insurance may increase. Also, you may be able to elevate the situation to include a consideration of a suspension on your license. When individuals are charged with driving with a suspended license, they may face harsh penalties. If your license was suspended due to a driving while intoxicated charge and you were charged with driving with a suspended license, your consequences may increase due to the seriousness of a charge. Your license suspension may even be extended.

How is the point system involved?

When individuals acquire more and more traffic violations, they may acquire points on their license. These points can add up to a certain amount where their license is suspended.If individuals are faced with a speeding ticket, they may get points on their driving record because of this charge. The number of points you receive can depend on how much over the speed limit you were going. For those driving one to 14 miles per hour over the speed limit, they may face a two-point violation. By going 15 to 30 miles per hour over the speed limit, you may be faced with a four-point violation. Those charged with speeding 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit may face a five-point violation on their driving record.

If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.