How Does an Ignition Interlock Device Work?

DWIs are taken very seriously by the state of New Jersey. DWI consequences include jail time, fines, surcharges, and alcohol education courses. However, courts might also require the installation of an ignition interlock device. At the time of their DWI, if the driver’s blood alcohol content is over 0.15%, they may be required to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicles they own. This device will be installed during their license suspension plus six to 12 months after the suspension. Continue reading to discover what the ignition interlock device is, how it works, and why you might be required to install one.

What is an ignition interlock device?

Having an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicles is a consequence for being convicted of a DWI. It is used in an effort to keep drunk drivers off the roads. Some factors that are taken into consideration by the court when deciding if you will receive an ignition interlock device are as follows: your BAC at the time of the incident, your previous charges, who was in your vehicle, and more. The device will require the driver to take a breathalyzer test to start their car. In the case that the driver’s BAC is .05% or higher, the car will not start. The device will be installed on any vehicle the individual owns. If the individual does not own a vehicle, the device will be installed on any car they may operate. The individual will also be required to pay for the installation of the device as well as any other included expenses.

What should I know about an ignition interlock device?

When receiving an ignition interlock device, you must meet the following requirements:

  • The device must be serviced every 67 days
  • The device must be installed at a service center designated by the Motor Vehicle Commission
  • The device requires a label warning of civil liability or prosecution for anyone who tampers with the device
  • The device must be able to detect a blood alcohol content of 0.05 percent

If you are receiving an ignition interlock device and are facing DWI charges, it is important for you to reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney who will advocate for you. Reach out to our firm today to learn what we can do for you. We will walk you through each step of this process. Contact us to schedule your initial consultation.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.