I Got a DUI in New Jersey; Am I Going to Lose My License?

There are many consequences for driving under the influence in the state of New Jersey. The suspension of your driver’s license is one of the consequences. Depending on how many offenses you obtain impacts the amount of time your license is taken away for. Continue reading to discover the consequences of DUIs in New Jersey. If you are facing DUI charges, reach out to our experienced Middlesex County DWI attorney at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro.

What are the consequences of a DUI in New Jersey?

First-Offense DUI Consequences

First-offense DUIs are taken seriously in the state of New Jersey. After your first offense, you may have your license suspended for up to 30 days. Some of the consequences include:

  • 30 days of incarceration
  • Up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • Install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for 3 to 6 months
  • A $500 fine

Second-Offense DUI Consequences

If you have been charged with a second-offense DUI in New Jersey, you could have your license suspended for up to two years in addition to:

  • 90 days of incarceration
  • Up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC
  • Installation and use of an ignition interlock device for up to two years
  • A $1,000 fine
  • A $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund

Third-Offense DUI Consequences

Being charged with a DUI for the third time in New Jersey often results in jail sentences for individuals who do not retain the services of an experienced criminal attorney. If you are not facing jail time your license can again be suspended for up to two years. Other third-offense DUI consequences in New Jersey are:

  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • Up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • Installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • A $1,000 fine
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fun
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund

Whichever DUI offense charges you are facing, it is important you speak with our experienced Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys who will explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. To learn more about our legal team at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro, do not hesitate to contact our team today. We will walk you through the legal process ahead.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
What Happens If I Am Charged With Assault In New Jersey?

Assault is a criminal offense that is not taken lightly in the state of New Jersey. If you are accused of this…

Read More
What are the Penalties for Shoplifting in New Jersey?

Although it may be viewed as a minor offense, a shoplifting charge can lead to serious penalties in the state of New…

Read More
Will I Go to Jail if I Receive a DUI in New Jersey?

When receiving a DUI in the state of New Jersey, you run the risk of obtaining a criminal record, regardless of it…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.