Is using my cell phone while driving a traffic violation?

Cell phones have grown to be a big part of our lives. We use these items everyday at all times. When we find a free minute, we can find ourselves scrolling through different applications on our phones. Texting has become one of the biggest forms of communication. We may text people more than we call them on the phone. As technology has grown and improved, our use of it has grown as well. Since we have grown more accustomed to updated technology, we tend to use it more. However, there are times when this is not a good idea. While driving, drivers should remain alert. By checking your cell phone, you are taking your eyes away from the road and other vehicles. This can cause an accident to occur. New technology has allowed individuals to use hands-free methods of interacting with others. This gives them a safer alternative than using their cell phones while operating a motor vehicle. Unfortunately, some may still choose to pick up their cell phones.

If an accident occurs as a result of a cell phone violation, it can cause harsh consequences. The accident can prove to be life-changing for those involved. Using your cell phone while driving is a traffic violation that can result in a ticket from a police officer. These officers are trying to create a safe environment for all those on the road.

What penalties can I face?

Drivers who have been charged with using their cell phone while driving can face various penalties. In the state of New Jersey, individuals can face various fines when charged with using their cell phone while driving. This charge can lead to varying fines depending on the number of times that you have been charged with this specific violation. For a first offense, drivers may face a fine between $200 to $400. For a second offense, there may be a fine from $400 to $600. A third or subsequent offense may cause a fine between $600 to $800. Also, this can cause you to be charged with three points on your driving record. With points on your license, you may face more consequences, such as increased insurances rates.

If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.