New Jersey: Don’t Drive Drunk This Superbowl Sunday

This weekend, football fans throughout the United States will be gathering in homes and bars to watch Superbowl LII. Millions of people look forward to Superbowl Sunday each year because it allows friends and families to gather for a beloved American past-time. However, one of the issues that comes with Superbowl Sunday is that many people choose to drink and drive. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Association, there were 10,497 fatalities from car accidents that involved a drunk driver in 2016.

New Jersey in particular takes driving under the influence very seriously. If an intoxicated person lets a seemingly less intoxicated person drive their car, both individuals can be charged with driving while intoxicated. The penalties for driving while intoxicated in New Jersey are quite serious and can result in significant fines, fees, and time behind bars. Of course, if an individual already has a DWI on their record, the penalties for a second or subsequent offense are even more serious.

The consequences of a first DWI offense in New Jersey are as follows:

  • Imprisonment for up to 30 days
  • Drivers license suspension for 3 months
  • Annual surcharge of $1000 for 3 years (totaling¬†$3,000)
  • Fines of $250 and $400
  • Participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $100 fee for the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 fee for the Neighborhood Services Fund

If you are charged with driving while intoxicated, contact our firm.

If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation. 

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.