New Jersey Marijuana Laws

Many people are reading about Governor Phil Murphy’s push to legalize marijuana and the expansion of medical marijuana in the state. It may be confusing to keep up with the news and know the rules regarding marijuana. We felt like it was a good time to revisit the laws regarding marijuana. Simply put, at this writing, marijuana is still illegal, unless you have a medical marijuana card. For those that do not, the smallest violation (under 50 grams) is still a disorderly person’s offense subjecting a person to the possibility of a maximum fine of 1000 dollars and 6 months in prison. Those caught with over 50 grams may be subject to a maximum fine of $25,000 and 1.5 years of incarceration.

The charge of distribution or the intent to distribute can subject a person to serious consequences as well.  For this charge, the minimum charge is a crime. This matter is broken down by the weight of the drug. A person caught distributing or signs of the intent to distribute less than 28 grams could be subject to 1.5 years in jail and $25,000 fine. A person caught distributing or signs of the intent to distribute over 28 grams and less than 5 pounds could be subject to 3-5 years in jail and $25,000 fine. A person caught distributing or signs of the intent to distribute over 5 pounds and less than 25 pounds could be subject to 5-10 years in jail and $150,000 fine. A person caught distributing or signs of the intent to distribute over 25 pounds could be subject to 10-20 years in jail and $300,000 fine.

If you are arrested with marijuana in the state of New Jersey, it is important to contact an attorney immediately. Your future could be in jeopardy.

If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation. 

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
What Happens If I Am Charged With Assault In New Jersey?

Assault is a criminal offense that is not taken lightly in the state of New Jersey. If you are accused of this…

Read More
What are the Penalties for Shoplifting in New Jersey?

Although it may be viewed as a minor offense, a shoplifting charge can lead to serious penalties in the state of New…

Read More
Will I Go to Jail if I Receive a DUI in New Jersey?

When receiving a DUI in the state of New Jersey, you run the risk of obtaining a criminal record, regardless of it…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.