Reckless Driving in New Jersey | What You Should Know

If you were charged with reckless driving in New Jersey, you will need to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney that can fight for you and your rights. Give our firm a call today to discuss the details of your case and your options. Our skilled Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys are on your side no matter what. Give us a call today to get started.

What are the consequences of reckless driving in New Jersey?

Reckless driving is one of the most common causes of car accidents in New Jersey. Reckless driving can be charged in instances where an individual is driving more than 30 miles per hour over the speed limit, damaging property with a vehicle, or driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

A reckless driving ticket has several consequences depending on the circumstances. For a first time offense, the penalties can include:

  • Up to 60 days in prison
  • $200 fine
  • 5 points on their driving record
  • Points on your license can lead to insurance premiums increasing and the potential to lose your license
  • License suspension

The consequences can become more severe if a person breaks the law and drives recklessly for a second time. The penalties can include the following for a second offense of driving recklessly:

  • $500 fines
  • Up to 90 days in prison
  • License suspension

What is a combination offense?

In the event that a person commits more than one offense at a time, it is considered a combination offense. A typical example of a combination offense is if a person drives 40 miles over the legal speed limit while also under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Another instance of a combination offense is when an individual drives recklessly after committing a criminal act. For both of these scenarios, the offender can be charged for both reckless driving and another crime.

If you are facing the consequences of a reckless driving charge, it is essential that you retain the services of a skilled criminal defense attorney as soon as you are able to. Our firm will work to explore all possible lines of defense on your behalf. We recognize that the penalties of these actions can follow you for years to come. Give our firm a call today to discuss the next steps you should take. We are ready to help you protect yourself and your future.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
What Happens if I Receive a DWI in Another State?

If you were arrested for a DWI outside of New Jersey state lines, the legal process can get quite confusing. Regardless, the…

Read More
What are the Penalties for Public Intoxication in New Jersey?

Public intoxication is frowned upon in the state of New Jersey, as it may lead you to engage in prohibited conduct that…

Read More
What if I Received a DWI this Labor Day Weekend?

Labor Day weekend is usually commemorated with barbeques or otherwise large gatherings with alcohol likely present. With this, this is a weekend…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.