What are “points” on a drivers license in New Jersey?

At some point or another in a person’s driving history, there is a pretty significant chance that they will receive a traffic ticket. When someone is issued a ticket for speeding, for example, they may be faced with a point violation. When an individual has points added to their driver’s license, they may face increased insurance premiums and may even be in jeopardy for a license suspension.

In New Jersey, there is a schedule for points that may be added to a license if the driver commits a traffic violation. As far as speeding in New Jersey goes, the points schedule is as follows:

  • If a driver speeds 1-14 miles per hour over the speed limit, they are subject to a 2-point violation
  • If a driver speeds 15-30 miles per hour over the speed limit, they are subject to a 4-point violation
  • If a driver speeds 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, they will be subject to a 5 point violation and a reckless driving ticket

If an individual gets 12 or more points on their license, they may be subject to a license suspension. New Jersey offers programs for drivers to have some points removed from a license as long as they complete the program.

If you need an attorney to help fight a traffic ticket, contact us today.

If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation. 

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
What happens if I’m caught driving with a suspended license after a DWI in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, if you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater you will be convicted…

Read More
Could I go to jail for a first-offense DWI in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious criminal offense that carries harsh penalties. A motorist's blood…

Read More
How can a DWI affect my insurance rates in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, if you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or above you will be charged…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.