What are the Consequences of a Robbery Conviction in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, robbery is considered a serious crime, and being charged with such can leave a devastating impact on your life. That is, you may not only face high fines but potential jail time. Read on to learn how the state defines a robbery crime, the consequences that follow a conviction, and how one of the proficient Middlesex County theft attorneys at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro can fight on your behalf to reduce or altogether eliminate these penalties against you.

How does the state of New Jersey define robbery?

In the state of New Jersey, robbery is defined as committing the act of theft of property involving the use of force, violence, or the threat of force or violence toward a person or in the presence of a person. Specifically, armed robbery is the theft of property with a weapon. On the other hand, aggravated robbery is more serious, as it involves the theft of property with a deadly weapon.

What are the penalties for committing robbery in the state of New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, robbery is considered a crime of the second degree. With this, you may be facing a prison sentence of up to 10 years and a hefty fine of $150,000.

Notably, a robbery charge can be upgraded to a crime of the first degree if you attempt to kill another party, inflict harm or attempt to inflict harm to another party, and/or you are equipped with a deadly weapon. With this, you may be facing a prison sentence of up to 20 years and otherwise hefty fines.

It is important to note that with your robbery charge, you are required to serve 85% of the sentence the New Jersey court ruled before gaining eligibility for parole. This practice is in line with the No Early Release Act of New Jersey.

What are the defenses I can take against my robbery charge?

A defense that is commonly taken against a robbery accusation is that you abandoned your attempt to commit the robbery. In turn, the prosecutor will have to prove beyond reasonable doubt that you did not abandon your committing of or attempt to commit robbery, with or without the use of or threat to use force when carrying out the robbery. Nevertheless, to help defend your argument, it is in your best interest to reach out to one of the talented Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys as soon as possible. Schedule your initial free consultation today.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
What Happens if I Receive a Criminal Contempt of Court Charge?

If you were charged with criminal contempt of court during your legal proceedings, it likely means that you conducted yourself in a…

Read More
Can I Get a Conditional Driver’s License in New Jersey?

If you are charged with a DWI in the state of New Jersey, a potential consequence is that you can lose your…

Read More
What are the Consequences of a Robbery Conviction in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, robbery is considered a serious crime, and being charged with such can leave a devastating impact…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.