What Are the Consequences of Drug DUIs in New Jersey?

It is common for individuals to understand the consequences that come with being caught driving drunk. However, it is less common for driving under the influence of drugs to be discussed or properly understood. Continue reading to discover the consequences of drug DUIs in New Jersey. If you are facing drug DUI charges, it is time to reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorney. If you have any further questions regarding these consequences, reach out to our experienced firm to learn more and to discuss our services.

What are the penalties for a first-offense drugged driving charge in New Jersey?

You may face the following consequences for being charged with drugged driving in New Jersey:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • License suspension for up to 12 months.
  • Required installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund $100
  • $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
  • $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • $500 fines
  • 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

What are the penalties for a second-offense drugged driving charge in New Jersey?

If you are being charged with a second-offense drugged driving DUI, you may face some of the following consequences that will have increased penalties:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • License suspension for up to 2 years
  • $1,000 fine
  • Install and use an ignition interlock device for up to 3 years after license restoration
  • 30 days of community service

What will happen if I am charged with a drugged DUI for the third time in New Jersey?

New Jersey does not take drugged driving offenses lightly. If this is your third or subsequent charge, you may be looking at severe consequences. If you have found yourself in this situation, it is important that you retain the servers of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who will work to fight for your rights in court. Our experienced attorney understands the weight that charges such as these may have on an individual’s future. The consequences for a third drugged driving offense are as follows:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • License suspension for 10 years
  • Participation in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • Install and use the Ignition Interlock Device
  • $1,000 fine

If you are facing drugged driving charges in New Jersey, you will require the assistance of a skilled and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who will fight for your future. Give our firm a call today to learn how we can assist you.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.