What are the Penalties for Public Intoxication in New Jersey?

Public intoxication is frowned upon in the state of New Jersey, as it may lead you to engage in prohibited conduct that you would otherwise not do. Ultimately, this poor behavior may result in serious penalties placed against you. Continue reading to learn the consequences of public intoxication and how one of the experienced Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro can work on your defense.

Is public intoxication considered a crime in the state of New Jersey?

Of note, the state of New Jersey does not directly criminalize public intoxication, regardless of how drunk you are. However, if you are caught committing another offense due to your public intoxication (i.e., a DWI offense), you may be potentially charged with a crime.

Am I facing charges for public intoxication?

While public intoxication is not considered a crime by New Jersey law, such disorderly conduct is considered a petty disorderly persons offense. You may be convicted of this offense if you were found to be engaging in improper behavior or using offensive language in a public setting. With this, the penalties may include up to 30 days in jail and up to a $500 fine.

What’s worse is if you are caught being publicly intoxicated while you are under the age of 21. With this, you may be convicted of underage possession or consumption of alcohol. The consequences for this are up to a $250 fine and up to a six-month license suspension.

Am I facing charges for a DWI after public intoxication?

As mentioned above, if you get in a car to drive after being publicly intoxicated, then you may be charged with a DWI. This is a criminal offense that comes with serious consequences, including license suspension, fines, and even imprisonment. Specifically, the potential penalties read as follows:

  • First-offense DWI:
    • Jail for up to 30 days.
    • Fine anywhere between $250 to $400.
    • Ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle for anywhere between three to six months.
    • License suspension for 30 days or until you install the IID.
    • New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) for anywhere between 12 to 48 hours.
  • Second-offense DWI:
    • Jail for up to 90 days.
    • Fine up to $1,000.
    • IID in your vehicle for up to two years.
    • License suspension for up to two years.
    • New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) for up to 48 hours.
    • Payment of a $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund.
    • Payment of a $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund.
  • Third-offense DWI:
    • Jail for up to 180 days.
    • Fine up to $1,000.
    • IID in your vehicle.
    • License suspension for up to 10 years.
    • New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) for up to 48 hours.
    • Payment of a $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund.
    • Payment of a $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund.

For more information, contact a skilled Middlesex County DWI attorney today.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
What Happens if I Receive a DWI in Another State?

If you were arrested for a DWI outside of New Jersey state lines, the legal process can get quite confusing. Regardless, the…

Read More
What are the Penalties for Public Intoxication in New Jersey?

Public intoxication is frowned upon in the state of New Jersey, as it may lead you to engage in prohibited conduct that…

Read More
What if I Received a DWI this Labor Day Weekend?

Labor Day weekend is usually commemorated with barbeques or otherwise large gatherings with alcohol likely present. With this, this is a weekend…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.