In New Jersey, if you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater you will be convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI). If you have been convicted of a DWI, you will likely face penalties such as license suspension. This is a significant consequence as you will no longer have the legal right to operate a vehicle. This will negatively affect your ability to earn a living as you can no longer drive yourself to and from work. The consequences of a DWI are serious. However, if you drive with a suspended license after a DWI conviction, you will face even more severe penalties for your reckless driving behavior. If you or someone you love has been charged with driving under a suspended license after a DWI conviction, please don’t hesitate to contact a determined Middlesex County Criminal Defense Attorney who can defend your rights and represent your interests in court. In addition, please continue reading to learn about the significant penalties you will face for driving with an under-suspension license after a DWI conviction.
What are the potential penalties for driving with a suspended license after a DWI in New Jersey?
In the state of New Jersey, operating a vehicle with a suspended license is typically considered a misdemeanor traffic offense. However, if you operate a vehicle after you have been convicted of a DWI and the court suspended your license, you will be facing a felony offense. A felony offense carries harsh penalties. If you have committed this criminal offense you will face a mandatory jail sentence of 180 days and you are not eligible for parole. In addition, you will be saddled with expensive fines of up to $10,000. Furthermore, your license will be suspended for a longer period. Furthermore, if you have been convicted of a first or second-offense DWI chemical test refusal, you will be charged with a felony offense. Ultimately, driving with a suspended driver’s license after a DWI conviction will be considered a felony offense.
Do I need an attorney?
If you have been charged with driving with a suspended license after a DWI conviction, you have a constitutional right to an attorney. A felony conviction is no laughing matter. Indictments of felony offenses in New Jersey carry harsh penalties. It is imperative to retain the legal services of an experienced attorney who can vigorously defend your rights and challenge questionable aspects of your case. We can help investigate the circumstances of the arrest as well as help you navigate the complexities of the penalties you are facing for your reckless driving behavior. Our firm is committed to helping our clients fight the charges brought against them. Allow our firm to fight on your behalf today.