What if I am Pulled Over Driving Without a License?

Have you ever gotten into your car to drive to a friend’s house and halfway there you realize you forgot your wallet at home? Most likely, your driver’s license was in your wallet, and you are technically driving without a license. In New Jersey, there are a few types of unlicensed drivers. It is important to know the penalties that come with different license violations. Read on to learn more about the different types of unlicensed drivers in New Jersey and the fines associated with each.

License Not in Possession

This refers to people who have a valid New Jersey driver’s license, but it is not in their possession. For example, you forgot or misplaced your wallet. For the most part, this violation carries a $150 penalty. A skilled traffic violations attorney will work to waive this fee.

Driving Without a Valid License

If you never had a valid driver’s license, and you are caught driving unlicensed, you may face fines of $200 to $500 and up to 60 days in jail. If convicted of this, you will also be prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license for at least 180 days.

Driving with a Suspended License

Driving with a suspended license carries serious penalties.

This will result in a $500 fine for a first offense. A $750 fine for a second offense and one to five days in jail. Anyone convicted of a third or subsequent offense may face a $1,000 fine and ten days in jail. If the convicted person has a prior conviction within the last five years, the person’s vehicle registration will also be revoked.

New Jersey’s New Exception

At the moment, teenagers in New Jersey who passed their road test will not have to get a driver’s license. Instead, they will be able to use a validated learner’s permit as a temporary license. This was done to avoid long lines and crowds at the MVC during COVID-19.

Clealry, regardless of what category you fall into, there will be fines and even possible jail time for driving without a license. If you are pulled over and caught driving without a license, it is important that you retain the help of a skilled traffic violations attorney. If you or a loved one is pulled over without a license, contact our firm today. We will fight to lower your fines and reduce any potential jail time.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need. 

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.