What if I Receive a DWI with a Commercial Driver’s License?

Individuals with a basic driver’s license are subject to severe penalties after a DWI charge in the state of New Jersey. These penalties are heightened for individuals with a commercial driver’s license, as it can impact their ability to work if their job is contingent on their use of a commercial vehicle. Continue reading to learn what will happen if you receive a DWI with a commercial driver’s license and how an experienced Middlesex County DWI attorney at The Law Office of Michael A. Policastro can help you defend against this.

What constitutes a commercial DWI in the state of New Jersey?

If an individual with a basic driver’s license is found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08% or more in the state of New Jersey, then they will be charged with a DWI. However, an individual with a commercial driver’s license only needs to be caught with a BAC level or 0.04% or more to face the consequences of a DWI charge.

What are the consequences if I receive a DWI with a commercial driver’s license?

If you receive a first-offense DWI, you will have your commercial driver’s license suspended for one year and your basic driver’s license suspended for anywhere between three to 12 months. And if you receive a second-offense DWI, you will have your commercial driver’s license suspended permanently and your basic driver’s license suspended for two years. Importantly, these commercial license penalties will be enforced regardless of whether you were operating a commercial vehicle at the time of your DWI offense.

With that being said, the other consequences you may be up against include the following:

  • First-offense commercial DWI:
    • Jail for up to 30 days.
    • Fines between $250 to $400.
    • Attendance at an intoxicated resource center (IDRC) for 12 to 48 hours.
  • First-offense commercial DWI with a BAC of 0.10% or higher:
    • Jail for up to 30 days.
    • Fines between $300 to $500.
    • Attendance at an IDRC for 12 to 48 hours.
  • Second-offense commercial DWI:
    • Jail for between 48 hours to 90 days.
    • Fines between $500 to $1,000.
    • Attendance at an IDRC for 12 to 48 hours.
    • Community service for 30 days.

A DWI is a criminal offense that will, inevitably, leave you with a permanent criminal record. This will not only impact your current employment of operating a commercial vehicle, but it will hurt your future job opportunities. This is why you must do everything in your power to fight against these penalties, especially if you believe you were wrongly accused.

This is where one of the skilled Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys is willing and able to step in. Nevertheless, call our firm today so that you can schedule your initial consultation with us.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
What Happens If a Juvenile is Caught Shoplifting in New Jersey?

Many teenagers go through the rebellious phase of sneaking out or neglecting school responsibilities. However, in some cases, this rebellion can expand…

Read More
Does New Jersey Offer Conditional Licenses to Those Convicted of DUI?

You will likely face a suspended license if arrested for a DUI in New Jersey. This can make it incredibly difficult to…

Read More
How Can a Criminal Record Affect My Life?

Even after you complete the penalties placed against you for your criminal offense, such as serving jail time and paying fines, you…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.