By definition, larceny is a crime involving the unlawful taking or theft of the personal property of another person or business entity. With the state of New Jersey taking this offense seriously, you most likely will be looking at fines, jail time, and a permanent criminal record that will negatively impact your future career opportunities or immigration status, among other things. Continue reading to learn more about larceny and how one of the experienced Middlesex County theft attorneys of the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro can work to reduce or altogether eliminate the penalties up against you.
What are the penalties for larceny in the state of New Jersey?
The potential penalties that you may be facing for your larceny offense will depend on the specific type of larceny crime, the value of the property, your prior record, whether you committed another offense in conjunction, and other relevant factors. As such, the following are examples of the sentences associated with different types of larceny crimes:
- Disorderly persons offense:
- If the value of the stolen property is less than $200.
- A jail sentence of up to six months and a fine of $1,000.
- Crime of the fourth degree:
- If the value of the stolen property is anywhere between $200 to $500.
- A jail sentence of up to 18 months and a fine of $10,000.
- Crime of the third degree:
- If the value of the stolen property is anywhere between $500 to $75,000.
- A jail sentence of anywhere between three to five years and a fine of up to $15,000.
- Crime of the second degree:
- If the value of the stolen property is more than $75,000.
- A jail sentence of anywhere between five to 10 years and a fine of up to $150,000.
And in addition to jail time and fines, a New Jersey judge may order you to pay restitution to the larceny victim. In other words, you will have to repay the victim for the monetary losses they incurred.
What are the penalties for shoplifting in the state of New Jersey?
Shoplifting is a type of larceny. And as such, the offenses are categorized similarly, along with the penalties associated with each offense. But of note, a New Jersey judge may also order you to perform community service for anywhere between 10 to 25 days.
You must use every defense possible to fight off these serious charges. This is why we recommend that you retain the services of one of the skilled Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys at your earliest convenience. Our firm will dedicatedly work toward building an optimized legal strategy. Pick up the phone and give our firm a call today.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.