What to Do if Charged with a DUI this Fourth of July

The Fourth of July is typically commemorated with festivities like barbeques and pool parties. It is important that you plan your transportation accordingly if you plan to consume alcohol or drugs at these events. Such precautions are not only necessary for your safety and that of others on the road, but also to avoid the harsh consequences of being convicted of a DUI. But if you are unfortunately charged with a first, second, or third-offense DUI during this holiday, follow along to discover the different penalties that you may be facing and how a proficient Middlesex County DWI attorney at the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro can walk you through the legal process ahead.

What are the consequences of a second-offense DUI this Fourth of July?

Even with a first-offense DUI, New Jersey courts will inflict nothing less than harsh penalties on you. Specifically, you may be facing the following consequences with this offense:

  • Attendance of up to 48 hours at the New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration.
  • Loss of your license for up to 30 days.
  • Installation and use of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for anywhere between three to six months.
  • Payment of an up to $1,000 fine.

What penalties will New Jersey impose for a second-offense DUI this Fourth of July?

Inevitably, second-offense DUI consequences are that much harsher than that of a first offense in the state of New Jersey. Below are the penalties you are up against for this specific conviction:

  • Attendance of up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC.
  • Up to 90 days of incarceration.
  • An up to two-year license suspension.
  • Installation and use of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for up to two years.
  • Payment of an up to $1,000 fine.
  • Payment of a $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund.
  • Payment of a $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund.

What are the charges for a third-offense DUI this Fourth of July?

The most serious of the three, a third-offense DUI commonly leads to a jail sentence. Other charges for a third-offense DUI in New Jersey are as follows:

  • Attendance of up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC.
  • Up to 180 days of incarceration.
  • An up to 10-year license suspension.
  • Installation and use of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
  • Payment of an up to $1,000 fine.
  • Payment of a $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund.
  • Payment of a $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund.

If you are facing any of the above charges, it is important that you retain the services of one of the talented Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys who will fight for your rights in court. We will work to reduce or eliminate any charges against you as best as we can.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
What Happens If a Juvenile is Caught Shoplifting in New Jersey?

Many teenagers go through the rebellious phase of sneaking out or neglecting school responsibilities. However, in some cases, this rebellion can expand…

Read More
Does New Jersey Offer Conditional Licenses to Those Convicted of DUI?

You will likely face a suspended license if arrested for a DUI in New Jersey. This can make it incredibly difficult to…

Read More
How Can a Criminal Record Affect My Life?

Even after you complete the penalties placed against you for your criminal offense, such as serving jail time and paying fines, you…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.