Who can be charged with a DWI?

In New Jersey, driving while intoxicated can be a serious charge. When people choose to drive while under the influence of alcohol, it can harm them and others that are on the road. Consuming alcohol is known to limit our judgement. Sometimes people make mistakes and they choose to drive. If this happens once, it may not have as severe consequences. However, if multiple charges are acquired, it can become more life-altering for those that are charged and found to be guilty.

For drivers that are 21 years of age or older, their blood alcohol content cannot exceed 0.08%. Some people may believe they are not impaired and can drive, but a breathalyzer test may prove that their BAC shows evidence that they are impaired or intoxicated. Those who are under the legal drinking age are not allowed to exhibit a blood alcohol content due to their status of being underage. If you have been charged with a DWI as someone who is under the legal drinking age, you should seek legal counsel to have the proper representation to protect you.

What consequences can drivers face?

Drivers who are caught under the influence of alcohol can face a variety of consequences that may include multiple fines, incarceration and license suspension. These individuals may also be required to spend a certain number of hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center to make up for their act. If the number of offenses that they are charged with increases, there may be an increase in fines, jail time and license suspension. Those who are found with a blood alcohol content that is over 0.10% upon arrest can face even greater consequences due to their increased intoxication level. This applies to those who are only facing a first offense, too. Due to the increased level of intoxication, the consequences can be greater for these drivers.

Can a higher BAC affect me more?

When drivers are caught with a blood alcohol content level that is over 0.15%, they may be required to install an ignition interlock device in any car they drive during the license suspension and for six to 12 months after the suspension. The installation cost is on the individual to pay for themselves. If drivers continue to be caught driving under the influence, penalties continue to grow more life-altering. Being caught driving under the influence within 10 years of your first conviction can lead to greater penalties and consequences. By being caught a third time within 10 years of your second conviction, you may face growing consequences. This may include up to 180 days in jail and license suspension for 10 years.

If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
Can I fight drug trafficking charges in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drug trafficking is one of the most serious criminal offenses you can be charged with. Essentially…

Read More
Does New Jersey offer hardship or conditional driver’s license to those convicted of DWI?

When you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you are violating New Jersey's traffic laws and will…

Read More
What are the factors that determine the severity of a felony conviction in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, depending on the particular crime you commit, there is a range of appropriate penalties that the law finds equivalent…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.