The state of New Jersey is quite aggressive when it comes to DWI convictions. This is why, even if this is your first offense, you will likely have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle as a consequence of your DWI. Read on to discover the purpose of this device and how a seasoned Middlesex County DWI attorney of the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro can help to combat the penalties placed against you.
What is the purpose of an ignition interlock device?
Essentially, the purpose of installing an ignition interlock device in your vehicle is so to prevent you from driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol ever again. With this device, you will be required to provide breath samples, before you start your car and at random points during your drive, to ensure that your blood alcohol content (BAC) level is below a specific limit.
What happens if my BAC level is above the legal limit with an ignition interlock device in my vehicle?
While the BAC legal limit is 0.08% in the state of New Jersey, this limit is much more restrictive with an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. That is, if your BAC level reads at 0.05% or higher, your vehicle will not start. And if you have your passenger provide a breath sample instead, the camera will detect this and your passenger may be facing some sort of penalty.
How long will I need to have an ignition interlock device in my vehicle?
Several different factors go into how long you will have to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. Such factors include your BAC level at the time of your DWI offense, whether you have any previous DWI offenses, etc. But generally speaking, the following is an explanation of the probability of having to install this device:
- First-offense DWI with a BAC level between 0.08% and 0.10%: a device installed in your vehicle for up to three months.
- First-offense DWI with a BAC level between 0.10% and 0.15%: a device installed in your vehicle for seven months to one year.
- First-offense DWI with a BAC level above 0.15%: a device installed in your vehicle during your four to six-month license suspension, with an additional nine to 15 months after your license is restored.
- Second-offense DWI: a suspended license for two years instead of a device installed in your vehicle.
- Third-offense DWI: a suspended license for 10 years instead of a device installed in your vehicle.
If you are required to install this device in your vehicle and you are facing other DWI penalties, you must retain the services of one of the competent Middlesex County criminal defense attorneys today.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.