Will My Car Be Impounded After a DUI in New Jersey?

If you are facing DUI charges in New Jersey, continue reading to learn if your car will be impounded. For assistance with your charges, look no further than our experienced Middlesex County DWI attorney.

Can I lose my car after a DUI in New Jersey?

If you have been arrested for driving under the influence or for refusing to submit to a breath test in New Jersey, your vehicle will be impounded by the police. You can reclaim your vehicle after a 12-hour impoundment period.

What are the consequences of a DUI in New Jersey?

First-Offense DUI Consequences

First-offense DUIs are not taken lightly in the state of New Jersey. You may face the following consequences if you have been charged with a DUI for the first time:

  • Face up to 30 days of incarceration
  • Up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • Install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for 3 to 6 months
  • Potential loss of your license for up to 30 days
  • You will most likely have to pay a $500 fine

Second-Offense DUI Consequences

If you have been charged with a second-offense DUI in New Jersey, you will likely face the following consequences:

  • A 2-year license suspension
  • A $1,000 fine
  • 90 days of incarceration
  • A $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • Installation and use of an ignition interlock device for up to two years
  • Up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund

Third-Offense DUI Consequences

Being charged with a DUI for the third time in New Jersey often results in jail sentences for individuals who do not retain the services of an experienced criminal attorney. The following are the third-offense DUI consequences in New Jersey:

  • A 2-year license suspension
  • A $1,000 fine
  • Up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • Installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund

If you are facing first, second, or third offense DUI charges, it is important that you speak with an experienced Middlesex County criminal defense attorney who will explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. To learn more about our legal team at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro, do not hesitate to contact our team today. We will walk you through the legal process ahead. If you have any further questions regarding your DUI charges, give us a call.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.

Read Our
Latest Blogs

View More Blogs
What Happens If I Am Charged With Assault In New Jersey?

Assault is a criminal offense that is not taken lightly in the state of New Jersey. If you are accused of this…

Read More
What are the Penalties for Shoplifting in New Jersey?

Although it may be viewed as a minor offense, a shoplifting charge can lead to serious penalties in the state of New…

Read More
Will I Go to Jail if I Receive a DUI in New Jersey?

When receiving a DUI in the state of New Jersey, you run the risk of obtaining a criminal record, regardless of it…

Read More

Contact The Law Office of
Michael A. Policastro

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.