Can I Receive a Hardship License After Receiving a DUI in New Jersey?

If your license has been revoked after a DUI or DWI in New Jersey, continue reading to learn if you can receive a hardship license. Contact our experienced criminal defense attorney to learn about our services and how we can assist you after receiving these charges.

What is a hardship license?

A hardship license is a special license for individuals who have suspended or revoked licenses after being charged with a DWI or DUI. This license is used to get to work and continue earning a living during this time. This license is often conditioned upon the individual solely traveling to and from work or school.

Can I receive a hardship license in New Jersey?

Many states offer hardship licenses during periods of suspension. However, New Jersey does not. A New Jersey driver must not drive with a suspended license until their driving privileges have been restored. After a DWI or DUI, a driver can lose their license for a minimum of three months.

Reasons for License Suspension in New Jersey

Drivers may have their licenses suspended in New Jersey for various reasons. The most common reasons for license suspension include the following situations:

  • DWI/DUI conviction
  • Refusal to take a breathalyzer test
  • Traffic offenses
  • Mental or physical condition
  • Failure to pay fines or court fees
  • Failure to provide proof of motor vehicle insurance
  • Abandoning a vehicle on a public highway

What can I do to get to work with a suspended license?

It is important to explore other options to get to work when your license is suspended. Individuals with suspended licenses in New Jersey who are not able to obtain a hardship license should explore public transportation, carpooling, driving apps such as Uber or Lyft, and more.

What are the penalties for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey?

The following are the potential penalties for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey:

  • First Offense: Extension to a license suspension that cannot exceed six months and a fine of $500
  • Second Offense: Possible imprisonment in the county jail for no longer than five days, possible extension of license suspension by up to six months, and a fine of $750
  • Third Offense: 10 days in county jail, possible extension of license suspension for up to six months, and a fine of $1,000

If you have been charged with a DWI or DUI in New Jersey, it is important that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney for representation. Our firm is prepared to explore all options of defense regarding your charges.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges,Β contact the Law Offices of Michael A. PolicastroΒ today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.