Over the years, cell phone usage increased and became a large part of everyday lives. This is especially seen with the expansion of smartphones in recent years. People use their phones at many different moments during the day, even while driving a car. Using a cell phone while operating a vehicle is a very serious traffic offense in the state of New Jersey. Any electronic device behind the wheel of a vehicle without the assistance of hands-free technology is considered a traffic violation. The increase in cell phone usage called for drastic changes to traffic laws. New Jersey maintains strict laws for cell phone violations while operating a vehicle. Those who violate these laws may face consequences as a result.
Types of Cell Phone Violations
When an individual uses a cell phone while driving, they are putting themselves as well as others on the road at great risk. Doing so means the driver is not giving their full attention to the road and their surroundings. This can cause serious injuries and even death. Some examples of cell phone violations may include:
- Talking on a handheld mobile phone
- Writing, sending, reading, or receiving any data over the phone. This may include text messages, emails, or the use of social media
- Searching through the internet
- Watching or taking any pictures or videos
- Playing games
Drivers who are found using a cell phone can be pulled over on the road by law enforcement. The officer may issue a ticket to the driver, resulting in certain penalties. Consequences for a cell phone violation on the roads in New Jersey may include:
- A fine between $200 and $400 for a driver’s first offense
- A fine between $400 and $600 for a driver’s second offense
- A fine between $600 and $800 in addition to 3 points issued on the driver’s record for a third or subsequent offense. This may also require a license suspension for 90 days.
It is important to note that if an individual is issued a cell phone violation more than 10 years after a prior conviction for the same offense, it is not considered a subsequent offense. The violation must be issued within those years in order for the driver to receive consequences for a subsequent offense.
Contact our Firm
If you or someone you know is facing a cell phone violation and wishes to speak with an experienced attorney, contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastrotoday.
If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the quality legal services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation.