Charged With a DWI This Memorial Day? Here’s What You Should Know

Memorial Day Weekend marks a heightened risk for drivers operating their vehicles while intoxicated. This is the case for a few reasons: it is one of the first holidays where it is warm enough to get together in the backyard. Parties and barbeques will often include alcohol. It might not be apparent to those getting behind the wheel that they’ve had too much to drink because they haven’t been out all night long. Day drinking is just as punishable as leaving the bar at 3 AM, should you chose to drive. New Jersey has a very strict policy when it comes to DWI charges. If you have been charged with a DWI over the long weekend, you will want to reach out to an experienced and understand attorney who can assist your case. Do not hesitate to reach out to our firm today to discuss your options. We are here to help.

What are the penalties of a first offense DWI?

You may face the following penalties if you are caught driving while drunk with a BAC of .08-.09%:

  • License suspension for 3 months
  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • $250 and $400 fines
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • Enrollment in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • 3 years of $1,000 yearly surcharges

What happens if I am arrested with a BAC over .10% in New Jersey?

If your BAC is .10% or higher, the charges are as follows:

  • Jail time up to 30 days
  • License revoked until the installation of an ignition interlock device. This will be used between seven months and one year
  • Between 12 and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Between $300-$500 in fines
  • $125 DWI Surcharge
  • $100 Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund Surcharge
  • $75 for the Safe Neighborhood Fund
  • $50 for the New Jersey’sΒ Victims of Crime Compensation Office

What Happens if I get a DWI under the age of 21?

Underage DWIs in New Jersey face penalties including the following consequences:

  • Up to 90 days of license suspension of up to 90 days
  • Between 15-30 days of community service
  • Mandatory participation in the IDRC
  • Additional fines

Drunk driving is taken very seriously in New Jersey and has severe consequences in an effort to keep drunk drivers off the roads. If you have received a DWI in New Jersey over the long weekend, you will require the assistance of a knowledgeable lawyer. Do not hesitate to reach out to our firm to learn how we can use our services to assist your legal process. Our attorneys are experienced to handle your case.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges,Β contact the Law Offices of Michael A. PolicastroΒ today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.