Consequences of DWI in New Jersey

The laws in New Jersey are strict for those who are caught driving while intoxicated. If a driver is assessed to have a blood alcohol content level that is over 0.08%, they can be charged with a DWI offense. This includes those who are 21 years of age and older. The various penalties, including possible license suspension, can change someone’s life. There is no plea bargaining for DWI offenses or provisional license provided to those who need a car. This can greatly affect someone’s employment if they have no other way to make their commute to work.

After a first offense, a person faces penalties that alter their life. Penalties may include up to 30 days of incarceration and suspension of one’s license for 3 months. Offenders can also be burdened with fines. Fines of $250 and $400 can be put into effect. More fines that can be included are a $1,000 yearly surcharge for 3 years, a Drunk Driving Fund fee, a Neighborhood Services Fund fee, an Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund and any others that are seen to be applicable. Engagement in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center may be deemed fit as well, which can require more fees. Overall, a first offense may be quite costly.

If a second offense is committed within 10 years, the consequences can be even more serious. The amount of time spent incarcerated may increase, along with an increase in the duration of a suspended license. Incarceration grows to 90 days in jail while license expulsion reaches 2 years. Fines of $500 and $1,000 may be given. Other fines include the donation to funds and enrollment in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center may be given as well.

A third DWI arrest can result in a devastating toll to someone’s life. With multiple DWI offenses, hostility in court grows. When charged with a third offense in 10 years, incarceration can increase to 180 days and one’s license may be suspended for 10 years. The more charges that occur, the bigger increase in penalties and fines. A $1,000 fine may be charged, along with a $1,500 yearly surcharge for 3 years. Fees paid to the Drunk Driving Fund, a Neighborhood Services Fund and an Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund can be put into effect. Engagement in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center may be made mandatory.

Those who have a BAC of 0.10% or over can be given more penalties. These penalties may include up to 30 days of incarceration, 7 to 12 months with a suspended license and fines of $300 and $500. Fees can include: $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund, $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund, $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund and a $1,500 yearly surcharge for 3 years. Along with these fees, the individual may be required to enroll in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.

If an individual is under the legal drinking age of 21 years old, being caught driving with even a little alcohol in one’s system can have major consequences. These can include license suspension for 30 to 90 days, fines, community service hours and participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.

If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation.