When a person is charged with a shoplifting crime in New Jersey, they are facing serious penalties that may have an impact on that individual’s life for years to come. Those who are charged with a shoplifting offense in New Jersey should seek legal counsel immediately, as an experienced attorney can assess the situation and work to lessen the penalties, if not have the charges dismissed altogether.
In New Jersey, the act of shoplifting low-value items is not quite as serious as higher value items. This is because New Jersey, along with many other states, bases it’s penalties for theft on the value of the crime. Stolen items that are worth less than $200 are only disorderly conduct offenses and are handled in municipal court. The penalties may include a maximum fine of $1000 and up to 6 months in jail.
The penalties for high-value items are as follows. These matters are handled in criminal court.
- An item valued between $200 and $500 is a 4th-degree crime
- Fine of up to $10,000
- Up to 18 months in jail
- An item valued between $500 and $75,000 is a 3rd-degree crime
- Fine of up to $15,000
- 3-5 years in jail
- An item valued over $75,000 is a 2nd-degree crime
- Fine of up to $150,000
- 5-10 years in jail
If you have been arrested for theft, contact our firm today.
If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation.