Easter Weekend DWI in New Jersey | What to Know

Many people celebrate Easter weekend with drinks. As a result, some people choose to drive home while intoxicated. DWI charges are taken very seriously in New Jersey. As a result, it is important to know what to do if you are facing these charges and the potential consequences that may result. Read on to learn more about DWI charges in New Jersey.

First DWI in New Jersey

If you are pulled over with a BAC of .08-.09%, and this is your first DWI, you may face the following penalties:

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • Suspension of license for 3 months
  • $1,000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • $250 and $400 fines
  • Engagement in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
  • $100 for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

If your BAC is .10% or higher, these charges will increase. These penalties may include:

  • A fine between $300-$500
  • You will lose your license until you install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle, at your own cost. Once you install the IID, you will have to use it for between seven months and one year.
  • Between 12 and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • A $125 DWI Surcharge
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund Surcharge
  • Up to $33 in court costs
  • $75 to the Safe Neighborhood Fund
  • $50 toΒ New Jersey’sΒ Victims of Crime Compensation Office

Second Offense

When considering your DWI charges, your blood alcohol content (BAC) will be taken into account, as well as your prior offenses. If you are pulled over driving while intoxicated for a second time, your penalties will be harsher than the first time.

Some of these penalties may include:

  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • Suspension of license for 2 years
  • $1,000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • $500 and $1000 fines
  • Engagement in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
  • $100 for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

Third Offense

If you are charged with a DWI for the third time in 10 years, you will face serious consequences, some of which may include:

  • Up to 180 days of incarceration
  • Suspension of license for 10 years
  • $1,500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • $1000 fine
  • Engagement in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
  • $100 for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

If you are facing DWI charges in New Jersey, you need to reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney right away. Our firm is here to advocate for you and explore all possible avenues of defense. The sooner you reach out, the sooner we can begin working on your case.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges,Β contact the Law Offices of Michael A. PolicastroΒ today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.