Holiday DWIs in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

2020 has been a rough year for everyone. With the New Year around the corner, people will be glad to leave 2020 behind, and welcome 2021 with open arms, hoping for a better year. Many people will choose to celebrate the New Year with a few drinks. This means some drivers may choose to drive drunk. Driving while intoxicated is incredibly dangerous, and as a result, carries some serious penalties. If you or a loved one is charged with a DWI in New Jersey this holiday season, you will need to contact a skilled criminal defense attorney. Read on to learn more about DWIs and what you need to know.

First DWI in New Jersey

If you are charged with a DWI for the first time, you may face the following penalties:

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • Suspension of license for 3 months
  • $1,000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • $250 and $400 fines
  • Engagement in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
  • $100 for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

Second Offense

When considering your DWI charges, your blood alcohol content (BAC) will be taken into account, as well as your prior offenses. This means, if you are pulled over driving while intoxicated for a second time, your penalties will be harsher than the first time.

These penalties include:

  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • Suspension of license for 2 years
  • $1,000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • $500 and $1000 fines
  • Engagement in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
  • $100 for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

Third Offense

If you are charged with a third DWI, you will face the following penalties:

  • Up to 180 days of incarceration
  • Suspension of license for 10 years
  • $1,500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • $1000 fine
  • Engagement in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
  • $100 for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

If you or a loved one is pulled over and charged with a DWI, contact our firm today.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges,Β contact the Law Offices of Michael A. PolicastroΒ today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.Β