How to Buy a Firearm in New Jersey

If you are looking to buy a firearm in New Jersey, it is important to understand the way to legally acquire a gun permit and purchase a gun legally to avoid penalties for violating gun laws. Continue reading and reach out to our attorney to learn more about how to purchase a firearm in New Jersey.

How To Apply for a Gun Permit

The first step you will take when applying for a gun permit in New Jersey is to complete an application for the permit you are looking to acquire. You will either chose to fill out the documentation for a Firearm Purchaser Identification Card or a Handgun Purchase Permit. You will have to provide documents for identification and ways to prove that you are of good character. You will submit the following to acquire a gun purchase permit: your passport, two references, your driver’s license, and consent for a mental health record search. You will also have a background check completed by the state. This will be processed through the state police and the FBI. You can also expect an investigation to be completed by the local police as well as a complete mental health record evaluation and fingerprinting.

Where can I buy a firearm in New Jersey?

Your gun should be purchased from a licensed dealer or a resident of the state in order to ensure the gun is registered in the system and it is a legal sale seen by the state of New Jersey. The firearm will be registered with a permit to prove that it is in your possession and will allow authorities to easily see who owns the gun if a crime was committed with said firearm. You may face consequences through the state if you fail to acquire a gun legally.

What are the consequences of violating gun laws in New Jersey?

The following are penalties for violating gun laws in New Jersey:

  • Illegal possession of a gun can result in jail sentences of up to 10 years
  • Illegal possession of an assault rifle is a second-degree crime
  • Illegal possession of a machine gun or handgun is a second-degree crime
    • A second-degree crime has a jail sentence of 5 to 10 years
  • Illegal possession of a rifle or shot gun is a third-degree cimre
  • Illegal possession of an air gun or spring gun is a third-degree crime
    • A third-degree crime comes with a jail sentence of 3 to 5 years

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges,Β contact the Law Offices of Michael A. PolicastroΒ today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.