How to purchase/own a firearm in New Jersey?

It is important to understand how to acquire a gun permit and purchase a gun legally to avoid penalties for violating gun laws. Some consequences for violating gun laws in New Jersey can include up to 10 years in jail. These laws are put into place to protect New Jersey’s citizens. Continue reading to answer any questions you might have regarding purchasing and owning a firearm in New Jersey legally.

How can I apply for a gun purchase permit?

To apply for a gun purchase permit, you must complete an application for the permit you are looking to acquire. There are two firearm purchasing permits: a Firearm Purchaser Identification card and a Handgun Purchase Permit. The process will include providing documents for identification as well as proving you are of good character.

You will be required to submit the following to acquire a gun purchase permit in New Jersey:

  • Consent for Mental Health Record Search
  • Driver’s license
  • Two references
  • Passport

The state of New Jersey will also complete a background check. This will be processed through the New Jersey state police and the FBI. This process will include a complete mental health record evaluation, fingerprinting, and an investigation by local police.

Where can I purchase a gun in New Jersey?

In order to be sure that the gun you are purchasing is registered in the system, a gun should be purchased from a licensed dealer or a resident of the state. This will ensure that it is a legal sale seen by the state of New Jersey. When purchasing a gun, the firearm will be registered with a permit to prove that it is in your possession. This process is put into place to allow the authorities to easily see who owns a gun if they were to commit a crime with said firearm. If you do not acquire a gun legally, you will likely face consequences through the state.

What are some penalties for violating gun laws?

Illegal possession of a gun is an indictable offense, some of which come with jail sentences of up to 10 years. A second-degree crime has a jail sentence of 5 to 10 years while a third-degree crime comes with a jail sentence of 3 to 5 years. The following are penalties for violating gun laws:

  • Illegal possession of an assault rifle is a second-degree crime
  • Illegal possession of a machine gun or handgun is a second-degree crime
  • Illegal possession of a rifle or shotgun is a third-degree crime
  • Illegal possession of an air gun or spring gun is a crime of the third degree

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges,Β contact the Law Offices of Michael A. PolicastroΒ today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.