Drivers who are convicted of driving under the influence in New Jersey will face serious consequences. One such consequence may be the required installation of an ignition interlock device. These devices require the individual convicted of a DWI offense to take a breathalyzer test each time they wish to start their car. If the ignition interlock device reads a level of 0.05 percent or higher, the car will not start. If an individual does not own a car, the device must be installed on any car that they may operate. Individuals who must participate in this program are required to pay for the installation and other expenses related to the device out of their own pocket, adding to the expense of getting a DWI.
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission requires that the ignition interlock device meets the following criteria:
- The device must be installed at a service center designated by the Motor Vehicle Commission
- The device must be able to detect a blood alcohol content of 0.05 percent
- The device must be serviced every 67 days
- The device requires a label warning of civil liability or prosecution for anyone who tampers with the device
If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated in New Jersey, contact our firm today.
If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation.