Thanksgiving Eve DWIs in New Jersey | What to Know

Many people believe that New Years Eve is the worst night when it comes to drinking and driving. After all, many people ring in the New Year with a few drinks and often drive home late at night. While it may come as a surprise, the night of the year that sees the most DWIs is the night before Thanksgiving. In fact, the night before Thanksgiving has actually become known as Blackout Wednesday. With college students and young adults all gathering together for the first time in months, drinking is often the main activity. This becomes dangerous when these party-goers hit the road after a night of drinking. If you are charged with a DWI the night before Thanksgiving, contact a skilled criminal defense attorney.

What are the Penalties for a First-Offense DWI in New Jersey?

If you are pulled over for drunk-driving for the first time and you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) between .08% and .09%, you may face the following charges:

  • A 30-day license suspension
  • A $500 fine
  • An ignition interlock device in your vehicle for between 3 and 6 months, installed at your own cost
  • Up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • Jail time for up to 30 days

What happens if I am arrested with a BAC over .10% in New Jersey?

If it is your first time being pulled over for driving while intoxicated, and you have a BAC of .10% or higher, you will face even higher charges. These penalties may include:

  • Losing your license for up to 45 days
  • Spending up to 30 days in jail
  • Fines between $250-$500
  • 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for between 6 months and 1 year, at your own cost

What Happens if I get a DWI under the age of 21?

New Jersey has a very strict policy when it comes to underage DWIs. If you are someone who was caught driving with even a .01% BAC, you will still face aΒ DWIΒ charge. These charges will oftentimes bring about the following consequences:

  • Between 15-30 days of community service
  • A license suspension of up to 90 days
  • Mandatory participation in the IDRC
  • Additional fines and fees

As you can see, drinking and driving is taken very seriously in New Jersey. As a result, it is necessary for you to reach out to an attorney with the skill and experience necessary to handle your case.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges,Β contact the Law Offices of Michael A. PolicastroΒ today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.Β