It is important to understand the difference between the two legal teams: robbery and burglary. In New Jersey, these two terms have different definitions and different penalties seen under the law. It may be easy to use these terms interchangeably in day-to-day speech, but after learning the difference between the two, you will no longer confuse the terms. Continue reading to discover the differences between robbery and burglary and their penalties. If you have been charged with either of these crimes, it is important that you reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney who will fights for your rights in court.
How is a robbery defined?
Committing the act of theft involving the use of force, violence, or the threat of force or violence is considered a robbery. Robbery is considered a second-degree felony in most cases in New Jersey. An example of a robbery would be a perpetrator instilling fear by threatening violence in order to forcibly steal the victim’s property.
What are the penalties for committing a robbery in New Jersey?
If you are charged with robbery, you will serve 85% of your sentence before you are eligible for parole under the No Early Release Act of New Jersey.
Being charged with a robbery in New Jersey may result in the following penalties:
- Robbery in the Second Degree: Up to 10 years in prison and a potential $150,000 fine.
- Robbery in the First Degree: Up to 20 years in prison and additional high fines.
How is a burglary defined?
Entry into a building with the intent to commit a crime is defined as burglary. Remaining on a property with the intent to commit a crime is also considered burglary. A burglary can be committed without breaking and entering the building. Simply remaining unlawfully inside of a building with the intent to commit a crime is defined as burglary. It is not necessary for a theft to take place in order to be considered a burglary; other intentional crimes include sex crimes or assaults.
What are the penalties for committing a burglary in New Jersey?
You will face a third-degree felony if you are convicted of burglary in New Jersey. You may also face up to $10,000 in fines as well as up to five years in prison. For aggravated burglary charges, fines can also be seen up to $150,000 and up to 10 years in prison.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.