There are many drivers on the road trying to safely get from one place to another. This is why it is important to be careful while driving. The state of New Jersey is strict in enforcing the rules of the road and take traffic violations very seriously. Depending on the type of violation you are facing, penalties may range from fines to license suspensions, and possibly even jail time.
There are many rules of the road that a driver must follow. Similarly, there are many ways drivers may violate these rules. This may include, but is not limited to:
- Cell phone violations
- Reckless driving
- Failure to yield
- Driving without a license
- Ignoring traffic signs/signals
- Causing an accident that results in injury
The speed limit is strictly enforced in the state of New Jersey. Speeding tickets have the potential to seriously affect a driver’s record. They may also cause individuals to pay fines, state surcharges, or higher insurance premiums. The penalties of speeding may vary depending on how fast the driver was going over the speed limit where they were driving. The New Jersey speeding point system is:
- 2 points for driving 1-14 miles over the speed limit
- 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
- 5 points for driving 30 miles over the speed limit
- Drivers who receive 6 or more points on their license may be subject to a surcharge
- Drivers who receive 12 or more points on their record may face license suspension
Individuals who drive irresponsibly and erratically may receive a reckless driving ticket. Reckless driving does not only endanger the driver themselves, but also other drivers on the road. This kind of ticket may cover violations such as a DWI or speeding over 30 miles per hour. Individuals who are issued this ticket may receive 5 points on their license as well as fines, possible jail time, and may even a license suspension. Consequences increase greatly if a driver is charged with more than one reckless driving offense.
Cell Phone Violations
Anyone behind the wheel of a vehicle is responsible to drive with the utmost caution. This requires them to have both hands on the wheel and their eyes on the road. When a driver uses a cell phone while driving, they are violating this rule and putting everyone on the road in danger. Studies show that doing so is 6 times more dangerous than driving drunk. Drivers who are found using their cell phone may be subject to fines or points on their license.
Driving with a Suspended License
If a driver has their license revoked, it is illegal for them to continue driving. If an individual with a suspended license is found driving, they may face an array of fines as well as an extended suspension. They may also face state surcharges as well as possible jail time.
Contact our Firm
If you or someone you know has been issued a traffic violation ticket and wish to speak to an attorney, contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today.
If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the quality legal services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation.