What Are the Consequences of Drugged Driving?

Many people are aware of the consequences of driving drunk. But, driving while under the influence of drugs is not discussed as often. As a result, it is important to understand the dangers of drugged driving and the serious consequences one may face if charged. Read on to learn more.

What Are the Penalties for Drugged Driving in New Jersey?

If you are charged with drugged driving, there is a very good chance that you will face serious penalties that may follow you for years to come. Here are some of the consequences you may face for drugged driving in New Jersey:

  • You may spend up to 30 days in jail
  • You may lose your license for up to 12 months.
  • You may have to install the ignition interlock device
  • You will have to pay up to a $500 fine
  • You will have to spend up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • You will have to pay a $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

What if I Am Charged With Drugged Driving a Second Time?

If you are charged with drugged driving for a second time, your penalties will increase. Some of the consequences you may face include:

  • You will lose your license for up to 2 years.
  • You will have to pay up to a $1,000 fine
  • You will most likely have to install and use the ignition interlock device for up to 3 years after license restoration
  • You will have to spend up to 90 days in jail.
  • You will have to spend 30 days doing community service.

What if I am Charged for the Third Time?

If this is your third drugged driving offense, you are looking at very serious consequences, which is why you cannot afford to proceed without the assistance of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney. The penalties for a third drugged driving offense are as follows:

  • You may lose your license for 10 years.
  • You will have to participate in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center.
  • You will have to install and use the Ignition Interlock Device.
  • You will have to pay a $1,000 fine.
  • You may spend up to 180 days in jail.

If you are facing charges for drugged driving, you will need the help of a skilled attorney. Contact our firm today to discuss your case.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges,Β contact the Law Offices of Michael A. PolicastroΒ today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.