It seems as though states across the country are moving quickly to legalize marijuana, whether in recreational form or for medical use only. New Jersey, however, is still known for strict laws regarding marijuana and it is important that residents continue to abide by them, regardless of what states like Colorado, Washington, and Massachusetts are doing.
If you are found to have 50 grams or less of marijuana, you could face a disorderly person’s offense. You may find yourself facing up to 6 months of incarceration as well as a maximum fine of $1,000. Like any other drug crime, the more you have, the worse the consequences are. So, if you are found to have more than 50 grams of marijuana in your possession, you will be charged with a crime. As a result, you may find yourself facing up to 1.5 years of incarceration as well as a maximum fine of up to $25,000. In the event that you were arrested for marijuana possession within 1,000 feet of a school, you may have to serve 100 hours of community service and may be ordered to pay another fine.
One big question that remains in New Jersey is what will happen to marijuana laws after the next gubernatorial election in the state. The Democratic candidate is in favor of loosening up laws on marijuana while the Republican candidate wants to keep marijuana a criminal offense at the state level. However, for now, the laws remain the same. If you have been charged with the possession, distribution, or cultivation of marijuana, it is essential that you consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.