What Happens If I Am Caught Driving While Under the Influence of Drugs?

If you are facing charges after being caught driving under the influence of drugs, continue reading to discover the consequences that you may face in the state of New Jersey. If you require assistance with your charges, it is time to reach out to our experienced Middlesex County DWI attorney. Our legal team is prepared to explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. To learn more about our services, give our firm a call today. Here are some questions you may have about drugged driving charges in New Jersey:

What are the penalties for a first-offense drugged driving charge in New Jersey?

You may face the following consequences for being charged with drugged driving in New Jersey:

  • $500 fines
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • License suspension for up to 12 months.
  • $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
  • Required installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund $100

What are the penalties for a second-offense drugged driving charge in New Jersey?

You may face the following consequences if you have been charged with a second-offense drugged driving DUI in New Jersey:

  • $1,000 fine
  • 30 days of community service
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Install and use an ignition interlock device for up to 3 years after license restoration
  • License suspension for up to 2 years

What will happen if I am charged with a drugged DUI for the third time in New Jersey?

If you are facing a third or subsequent charge for drugged driving in New Jersey, you may be looking at severe consequences. New Jersey does not take drugged driving offenses lightly. If you have found yourself in this situation, you must reach out to an experienced Middlesex County criminal defense attorneyΒ who will work to protect your rights in court. Our legal team understands the weight that these charges may have on your future. The consequences of a third drugged driving offense include the following:

  • $1,000 fine
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Participation in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • License suspension for 10 years
  • Install and use the Ignition Interlock Device

Do not hesitate to give our firm a call today to get started with our legal team. We will work to fight for your rights, no matter the circumstances. Contact us today.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges,Β contact the Law Offices of Michael A. PolicastroΒ today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.