What is Megan’s Law?

In the state of New Jersey, Megan’s law is in place to name sex offenders on a registry in order to inform the surrounding community of the appropriate circumstances. Sex offenders who have repeated offenses were required to register with the state upon the implementation of this law. When individuals move from another state to New Jersey, they have to register as a sex offender with the state within 10 days of moving. This move applies to those moving residencies, attending school in the state or being employed in New Jersey. If you already reside in New Jersey and move within the state, you are required to report this change of address to the local police at least 10 days prior to the move. The sex offender’s registration remains active for their life. However, not all of them are reported to the public. The country prosecutor assesses the tier that the offender was placed in and uses that to determine if they will inform the public of the possible threat.

What constitutes as a sex crime?

Sex crimes can include a range of offenses. These can consist of criminal sexual contact, aggravated criminal sexual contact, lewdness or indecent exposure, domestic violence, sexual assault, aggravated sexual assault, statutory rape and possession. With this offenses, individuals can face life-changing penalties.

How can a charged individual be punished?

If individuals are found guilty of a sex crime, they can face a variety of consequences. The law is not forgiving of sex crimes. Not only may guilty individuals have to register as a sex offender, they may face jail time. Even after jail time is completed, individuals are faced with the repercussions of being named as a sex offender. When guilty individuals are named to the sex offender list, they are separated into tiers. These tiers categorize them based on the probability that they will commit another sex crime. This is deciphered by local officials to decide on who is revealed to the public as a possible threat.

Charged individuals should seek legal counsel immediately. A charge can simply ruin the life of an individual. Complaints of a sex crime can taint your image and reputation. It is important to clear your name and provide an accurate portrayal.

If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation.