In the eyes of the law, it is crucial to understand the difference between robbery and burglary in New Jersey. These two law terms may seem interchangeable in day-to-day speech, but after learning the difference between the two as well as the difference between their penalties will never have you confusing the two again.
How is a robbery defined in New Jersey?
A robbery is defined as committing the act of theft involving the use of force, violence, or the threat of force or violence. For example, a perpetrator instilling fear by threatening violence in order to forcibly steal the victim’s property is labeled a robbery. In the state of New Jersey, robbery is considered a second-degree felony in most cases.
What are the penalties for committing a robbery in New Jersey?
It is important to understand that if you have been convicted of robbery in New Jersey, you will serve 85% of your sentence before you are eligible for parole (under the No Early Release Act.)
The penalties for committing a robbery in New Jersey are as follow:
- Robbery in the Second Degree: Up to 10 years in prison and a potential $150,000 fine.
- Robbery in the First Degree: Up to 20 years in prison and additional high fines.
How is a burglary defined in New Jersey?
A burglary is defined as an entry into a building with the intent to commit a crime. A burglary can also be defined as remaining on a property with the intent to commit a crime. A burglary can be committed without breaking and entering the building such as remaining unlawfully inside of a building with the intent to commit a crime. This includes perpetrators that may have been initially invited into the building is also considered a burglary.
It is not necessary for a theft to take place in order to be considered a burglary; other intentional crimes include sex crimes or assaults.
If a perpetrator enters a building unlawfully with the intent to steal, but is scared out of the building without doing so, is also considered a burglary without the intended crime committed.
What are the penalties for committing a burglary in New Jersey?
If you are convicted of a burglary in the state of New Jersey, you will face a third-degree felony. This could also include a $10,000 fine as well as up to five years in prison. Fines can also be seen up to $150,000 and up to 10 years in prison for aggravated burglary charges.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.