What should I know about New Jersey’s gun laws?

Each state has gun laws that may be a bit different from one another. When people are found in violation of these laws, they may face penalties involving jail time. Gun violations are taken seriously due to the deadly nature of guns. It is important to understand the laws in your state to ensure that you acquire or maintain your gun legally.

How strict are New Jersey gun laws?

In order to possess a gun in the state of New Jersey, a person must have a permit to purchase firearms. This is in place to regulate the sale of guns. When individuals want to purchase a handgun, their permit to purchase is only valid for 90 days. For long guns, the permits are different. When someone wants to purchase a long gun, such as a rifle or shotgun, they must possess a lifetime purchaser identification card.

When individuals decide to purchase a gun, it must be from a licensed dealer or a resident of the state. Handgun transfers are held by the New Jersey State Firearms Investigation Unit with some exceptions. These exceptions include firearms willed to a transferee and those brought into the state by new residents.

The state has banned assault rifles except for those that were acquired before May 1, 1990. While it is legal to possess an assault rifle purchased before that date, there are limitations. There are limits on the number of magazine rounds and there are NFA regulations that apply as well.

To acquire a carry permit, an individual has to establish that they need to protect themselves based on some urgency. This is because New Jersey is a no-issue state, which means that carry permits are rarely issued to the public.

What are some penalties for violating a gun law?

If individuals are charged with violating gun laws, they may face severe consequences. These consequences are called indictable offenses, which are equal to felonies in other states. Individuals may face jail time if they are found to be guilty of violating these laws.

Illegal possession of a machine gun or handgun is a second-degree crime. This can lead to a jail sentence of five to 10 years. Illegal possession of an assault rifle is a second-degree crime. Illegal possession of a rifle or shotgun is a third-degree crime. Illegal possession of an air gun, spring gun or weapon of a similar nature is a third-degree crime. Third-degree crimes can lead to a jail sentence of three to five years. With these penalties at stake, it is important to acquire legal representation to ensure that your life will not be majorly impacted.

If you have been charged with a crime in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro today to schedule a consultation so we can discuss your situation.