If you are facing theft crime charges in New Jersey, it is important that you understand the penalties you may face. To learn the definitions of robbery and burglary in New Jersey and the consequences those convicted of these theft crimes may face, continue reading. For assistance with your charges, do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney. Our legal team at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro is prepared to explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. To learn more about our firm and how we can help, give us a call today.
How is a robbery defined in New Jersey?
Robbery is defined as committing the act of theft involving the use of violence, force, or the threat of force or violence. In New Jersey, robbery is considered a second-degree felony. If a perpetrator instills fear by threatening violence to forcibly steal the victim’s property, this is an example of robbery.
What are the penalties for committing a robbery in New Jersey?
Being charged with robbery in New Jersey means that you will serve 85% of your sentence before you are eligible for parole under the No Early Release Act of New Jersey.
You may face the following penalties if you have been charged with robbery in New Jersey:
- Robbery in the Second Degree: Up to 10 years in prison and a potential $150,000 fine.
- Robbery in the First Degree: Up to 20 years in prison and additional fines.
How is a burglary defined in New Jersey?
Burglary is defined as entry into a building with the intent to commit a crime or remaining on a property with the intent to commit a crime. It is possible for a burglary to be committed without breaking and entering. Remaining unlawfully inside of a building with the intent to commit a crime is enough to be charged with burglary. It is also not necessary for a theft to take place to be charged with burglary. Other intentional crimes can include sex crimes or assaults.
What are the penalties for committing a burglary in New Jersey?
Being convicted of a burglary in New Jersey means that you will face a third-degree felony, up to $10,000 in fines, and up to five years in prison. Fines can also be seen up to $150,000 and up to 10 years in prison for aggravated burglary charges in New Jersey.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.