What You Need to Know About DUIs in New Jersey

There are few things more damaging to a reputation than receiving a DUI. In many cases, a DUI can cause you to lose your license, your job, and obtain a criminal record. We know that people make mistakes, which is why we are here to help. Please continue reading and reach out to our experienced Middlesex County criminal defense attorney today to learn more about the consequences of DUIs in New Jersey and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I receive a first offense DUI in New Jersey?

Even if this is only your first offense, there is a very good chance that you will face a wide array of very serious consequences. Some of the penalties you may face for a first-offense DUI in the state of New Jersey are as follows:

  • You may lose your license for up to 30 days
  • Will will most likely have to spend up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • There is a chance that you may face up to 30 days of incarceration
  • You will most likely have to pay a $500 fine
  • You will have to install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for anywhere between 3 and 6 months

What are the consequences of a second-offense DUI in New Jersey?

If this is your second DUI offense in New Jersey, you are looking at the following penalties:

  • A 2-year license suspension
  • 90 days of incarceration
  • A $1,000 fine
  • A $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for up to two years
  • You will most likely have to spend up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC

Will I go to jail for a third DUI offense in New Jersey?

There is a very good chance that you will go to jail without the assistance of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney at your side. The consequences of a third-offense DUI in New Jersey are as follows:

  • A $1,000 fine
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You may face up to 90 days of incarceration
  • A 2-year license suspension
  • Up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device, at your own cost

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges, contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Policastro today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.Β