Work Zone Violations in New Jersey | What to Know

In 2018, across the country, there wereΒ 755 fatalities in work zones. Working on streets and highways can be a dangerous job. As a result, it is important to protect highway workers, other drivers, and ourselves. For this reason, many states, including New Jersey, have been cracking down on work zone violations. Read this blog for more information regarding New Jersey’s work zone violations and what to do if you are issued a ticket.

New Jersey Traffic Violations

The most common reasons one may receive a traffic ticket include:

  • Speeding
    • 1-14 miles per hour over the speed limit: 2-point violation
    • 15-30 miles per hour over the speed limit: 4-point violation
    • 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit: 5-point violation
  • Reckless Driving
    • Up to 5 points on your license
    • Possible jail time
    • Overwhelming fines
    • A suspended license
  • Cell Phone Violation
    • First offense- Fine between $200 and $400
    • Second offense- Fine between $400 and $600
    • Third or subsequent offense- $600 and $800, 3-points to your driving record
      • This may also impact your insurance premiums and in some cases, your license can be revoked.
  • DWI
    • A 30-day license suspension
    • A $500 fine
    • An ignition interlock device in your vehicle for between 3 and 6 months, installed at your own cost
    • Up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
    • Jail time for up to 30 days
      • These penalties refer to a first-time offender, over the age of 21 years old, with a BAC of .08-.09%. DWIs, like many traffic violations, have increased penalties depending on past offenses and more.

New Jersey Work Zone Violations

Because work zones are so dangerous, work zone violations carry increased penalties. In New Jersey, if you are pulled over and issued a ticket for any of the above in a work zone, you will pay double the original fines. Traffic tickets can carry heavy fines as is, so doubling the fines can seriously impact your financial future. Workers do not have to be present at the scene for the violation to count as a work zone violation, but signs do need to be present alerting drivers that there is a work zone.

What if I Receive a Ticket for a Work Zone Violation?

As previously mentioned, work zone violations carry double the fines of a regular ticket. As a result, you will need to contact an experienced traffic violations attorney. A skilled traffic violations attorney may be able to help lower the fines and/or the number of points you receive on your license.

If you are a loved one is pulled over for a traffic violation, reach out to our firm today to discuss your options.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

When someone is charged with a crime, they have a lot to consider. However, we understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why we are here to help. No matter your circumstances, if you are facing criminal charges,Β contact the Law Offices of Michael A. PolicastroΒ today for the experienced legal counsel you deserve and need.Β