Sex Crime Attorneys Located in Milltown, New Jersey
If you are suspected of or charged with a sex crime, the social stigma and legal repercussions can be felt immediately. In addition to the harsh legal penalties you may be facing if convicted, you may be required to register as a sex offender with federal, state, and local agencies, and the conviction will remain on your record for the rest of your life. Although you may be subject to immediate public ridicule and judgment, you have the right to have an attorney represent you and provide you with a strong legal defense. The attorneys at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro are committed to providing a strong legal defense, no matter how complex your case may be. Contact our firm today.
New Jersey Sex Crimes
If you are charged with a sex crime, you should consult with an attorney immediately. The attorneys at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro are available to help you with your case. Although not an exhaustive list of sex crimes we defend, we assist clients charged with:
- Criminal sexual contact, intentional touching
- Aggravated criminal sexual contact
- Lewdness or indecent exposure
- Domestic violence
- Sexual assault (rape)
- Aggravated sexual assault
- Statutory rape
A sex crime conviction may come with many years in prison and a lifetime on local and national sex offender registries. The stigma of being branded a sexual predator can be life-altering in very detrimental ways and the conviction will follow you for the rest of your life. Employing the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney can help you overcome the hurdles of a sex crimes charge and fight the potential conviction. Contact the attorney at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro for your consultation today.
Understanding New Jersey’s Megan’s Law
On October 31, 1994, former Governor Christine Todd Whitman signed legislation that mandated that sex offenders register with the state and required that the community is notified in appropriate circumstances. These laws are commonly referred to as “Megan’s Laws.”
Registration Requirements Under Megan’s Law
In New Jersey, if you were convicted of a sex crime since Megan’s law went into effect on October 31, 1994, or were serving a sentence as of that date, you are required to register with the state. Any sex offenders who have repetitive offenses are required to register regardless of the date of the conviction. If you were convicted of a sex crime in another state, you must register with the State of New Jersey within 10 days of moving to New Jersey, attending a school in New Jersey, or are employed in New Jersey. If you are moving within the state of New Jersey, you will be required to report a change of address to local police at least 10 days prior to the move. A sex offender’s registration will remain active, and they are required to maintain registration, for the rest of their lives. Notification to the community will depend on the Tier assessed by the county prosecutor.
If you are required to register pursuant to Megan’s Law, the attorneys at the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro can help make sure you are abiding by the appropriate laws. New Jersey’s Megan’s Law is very strict and stringent and any failure to abide by the law can create greater damage to your life and reputation.
Contact a Middlesex County Sex Crimes Attorney
If you need a quality attorney to help guide you through your criminal case, the Law Office of Michael A. Policastro is here to help you. With an office located in Middlesex County, our attorneys can assist clients with a range of criminal cases in both federal and New Jersey state courts. Our firm strives to provide our clients with exceptional service from experienced defense attorneys. Contact The Law Office of Michael A. Policastro for a consultation today.